Piran, Koper, Izola – Tartini Festival 2010

Years ago, when I have decided to become full time artist, I moved to the Slovenian coast. I have never thought that I will once live in the city, where Giuseppe Tartini was born. It happened just that. I live in Piran, where I have my gallery, city where besides all numerous summer events Tartini Festival is coexisting already nine years.

With Tartini and his activities as a musician, I was acquainted while visiting his birthplace, where the Giuseppe Tartini’s museum is, and nearby my gallery and studio. Before I have really heard his music, I finished a series of watercolor paintings of littoral cityscape’s. In Piran, of course, it is very difficult to ignore the view of a Tartini Square with the St. George’s Church in the background. Once a design is completed, for sure a statue of Giuseppe Tartini is on it. Curiosity overcomes me and I began to get acquainted with the Tartini’s musical legacy. I will not be exaggerating when I say that I know at least three of his works for violin.

Being a fan of Rock and Blues music, it happened accidentally that have found on You Tube the following performance of Tartini’s Trill – Vanessa Mae – The Devil’s Trill.
So I said to my self, listen to some other musician, and the next one was Sonata »La Didone Abbandonata«.

Music is a special world and deeper you go into it, richer you are, without respecting the music genre. In this way, I first met with the organizers of the Tartini Festival and later with some artists who have come to my gallery before having a concert in Monastery of St. Frances. When you go to an evening concert at the Monastery of St. Frances in Piran, you are walking by the Gallery Marko Jezernik in Bolniška street.

Tartini Festival events are at the following locations:

Piran

* Church of St. George
* Monastery of St. Frances
* The 1st of May Square

Koper

* Atrium of Praetorian Palace
* The Regional Museum Koper

Izola

* Manzioli’s Palace

Junior Tartini Festival is already in full swing. Every Thursday at 19:30 young musicians appearing in the atrium of the Praetorian Palace in Koper.

Tartini festival this year is already the ninth row, the central Tartini Festival will open its doors on Friday 27th August, at 20:30 in the church of St. George in Piran.

Opening concert: “Budapest Virtuous”, soloist: Pierre Hommage – violin

Tartini festival concluded on 11 September 2010. Listen to music and enjoy the Tartini Festival 2010!

Details about the Tartini Festival on the link: Tartini Festival

About Marko Jezernik

I'm running Fine Art Gallery & Studio presenting my artworks / paintings, fused glass, art furniture, catalogues and books.. / Aditional activities: Art Promotion & Consulting, Mentorship, Adventure in Istrian Hinterland, Webpage admiistration...
This entry was posted in Tartini Festival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

